PepBoys Ratings and Reviews
OIL QST(4)
Shop now at PepBoys
LIFT EQUIPMENT HOIST/STANDS or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Big Red Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist

Big Red Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist

TORIN 2 TON ENGINE HOIST
Overall rating:
4.417 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
11 out of 11100%of reviewers recommend this.
Customer reviews for Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist
Review 1 for Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Heavy duty, easy to assemble.

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Cortland
Would you purchase this product again?No
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:In Store
Level of Expertise:I do some repairs
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Instructions were very clear, and assembly was about 45 min. To 1 hour because of cold fingers (November).
Pros Warranty, Price, Dependability
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No trouble at all

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Rio Rancho, NM, USA
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:In Store & Online
Level of Expertise:I do all vehicle repairs myself
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The HF 1 ton didn't have the reach to pull the 5.4L out of my truck so I was going to pick up their 2 ton. Instead I found this Big Red 2 ton here for only $127 after the sale price plus the additional 25% off for ordering it online. Ordered and paid online then drove down and got it at the store. Pulled the 5.4L out of my Ford with no problem. Plenty of reach and handled the job with no trouble. Glad I found it.
Pros Price, Dependability, reach
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Jefferson, LA, USA
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Rewards Member:Yes
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:Online
Level of Expertise:I do all vehicle repairs myself
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
5 / 5
5 / 5
easy to put together and took motor out of truck with it
with out any problems great motor lift
Pros Price
Cons Price
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good strong and heavy duty unit

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Jax., FL
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Rewards Member:Yes
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:In Store
Level of Expertise:I do some repairs
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Picked up at local Pep Boys store. The heavy duty box was totally intact, well packed and all parts included/protected, just not identified very well (microscopic numbers on small 4”x 4” diagram). A four page 6 x 8 ½” booklet including safety, assembly & parts list, along with operating instructions. Everything finally went together as designed; I did make a few minor errors due to the vague and tiny ID/instructions. I had to look closely at the box photo. I worked alone and on the back patio in low light at night, which slowed the assembly process. Two hours & two Coronas later it was ready for the shed. This thing is HEAVY and don't even think about rolling across the lawn. It was strapped to my hand truck (perfect fit) and transported up the ramp into the shed and put to bed.
 Have not put this to the test yet, mainly to use to lift lawn mower for maintenance.
 Very small print and somewhat vague, but it's all there.
 I think it will be overkill for what I need but I prefer heavy duty. Stores well w/small foot print.
 It should exceed my needs as a home owner. Not sure about durability, time will tell.
Pros Price, storage footprint
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product ...

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Green broke, n.j.
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Rewards Member:Yes
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:Online
Level of Expertise:I do all vehicle repairs myself
Price: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product has been built with good quality parts & workmenship...
 Keep up the good work...
 X x x
 xxx.
 xxx
Pros Price
Cons Warranty
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality construction, very usefull

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paid for itself in first use. Had to remove inboard boat engine and over multiple days a rental would not suffice. Added an extension tube to reach the engine and it worked great.
Pros Price, Dependability
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good quality. Works well

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Sherman Oaks
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Rewards Member:Yes
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:In Store
Level of Expertise:I do some repairs
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this lift to move an engine and eventually pull the engine out of my car. So far, I have been very pleased with it, and since I am not currently using it, I appreciate the fold up legs (a feature I was not looking for). I think I got it on sale too, so it wasn't much more than a used unit.
 The stuff was ready when I came to pick it up.
Pros Price, Dependability, fold-up legs
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product and box in good condition

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Raleigh, NC
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:Online
Level of Expertise:I do some repairs
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The general online review is that you get what you pay for. I'm waiting for the other shoe to drop but 1 month later and it it still lifting car engines just fine. Only put in and out twice (total of 4 uses). We were simply tired of manhandling engines and quite happy to have purchased this lift. Couldn't find a better price online than Pepboys, and the store I picked it up at was just 30 minutes away.
 While the store was near a rougher neighborhood the employees were nonethless wonderful. I'm Filipino and often mistaken as Mexican if that makes a difference. And used to occasional discrimination.
Pros Price, Dependability
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Perfectly

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Virginia, USA
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:Online
Level of Expertise:I do all vehicle repairs myself
Price: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Holds well and went together eaisly. No problems with hoist. The engine stand did present a little problem. I hoisted the engine up with the boom on the 2 ton length, no problem. The problem came when it was time to put the engine on the stand. The casters on the stand would not let the engine stand get close enough to the engine. So, I had to put the engine down on jacks, then move the boom to the half ton length then pick up the engine and put it on the stand. Next time I'll make sure and hoist it from the half ton length. Otherwise awesome hoist, i see it lasting for many many years.
Pros Price, Dependability
Cons none
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Short of expections

PostedJune 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Lombard, IL, USA
Rewards Member:Yes
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:In Store
Level of Expertise:I do some repairs
The extension of the hoist is short for most engine removal applications.i had to get some tubing to extend about 10inches so I could change an engine in a camaro with out removing standard ground effects to be able to get to the center of the engine
Pros Price
Cons Handling, not ready to use
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

BigRed engine puller

PostedMarch 29, 2013
Customer avatar
Great product, I bought this to pull the engine out of my Twin Turbo Z and it works great I would recommend it has a high lift height
Pros Handling, Price, Dependability
Yes, I recommend this product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Anonymous
300zx engine hoist
Posted May 13, 2013
Awesome! I too am pulling my engine from my 300zx! looks like I found the hoist i need! Thanks! gixxer7
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 12 for Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

nice footprint, leg locks need work

PostedMarch 22, 2013
Customer avatar
Rewards Member:Yes
Overall, nice product. My only issue is when I put the legs down, I have to lift up on the base to put in the locking pins. When this thing is folded up, it is very small - that is really nice! You have to take the arm out but that's a small price to pay if you have a crowded garage like I do. Other features such as lift, reach, etc. are excellent.
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.