PepBoys Ratings and Reviews
N/A(9)
OIL QST(9)
Shop now at PepBoys
LIFT EQUIPMENT HOIST/STANDS or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Big Red Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist

Big Red Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist

TORIN 2 TON ENGINE HOIST
Overall rating:
4.381 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
18 out of 1995%of reviewers recommend this.
Customer reviews for Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist
Review 1 for Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Easy to assemble and very well made for the money

PostedJuly 20, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Lauderhill, FL, USA
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Rewards Member:Yes
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:In Store & Online
Level of Expertise:I do all vehicle repairs myself
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I can't attest to the durability of this lift yet because I have not had a chance to use this yet but will soon enough. Despite some negative reviews about missing parts, my lift included all of the parts necessary for assembly. This lift is very well made and an excellent value for the money. All of the welds look good as well as the finish. I would recommend this lift for anyone who needs one.
 Easy and convenient
 This product was better than expected for the money
Pros Price
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works great, built well and best price!

PostedJuly 13, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Virginia Beach
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Rewards Member:Yes
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:Online
Level of Expertise:I do all vehicle repairs myself
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shopped all of the local stores and the internet. Found PEP Boys web site and ordered "on the line" with a 35% discount. Nobody could beat the price. The store had it ready for pick up the next day.
Pros Price, Dependability
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

OK

PostedApril 16, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Calexico, CA, USA
Would you purchase this product again?No
Did you find everything you were looking for?No
Price: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ok product..not what Was expecting....easy to use.... takes about an hour to put together, some instructions not to clear to where parts go. I put it together and it seems to work ok. I looked at the box for help.
 wrong item
Pros Price
No, I do not recommend this product.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good value

PostedApril 5, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Smithfield, VA, USA
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Rewards Member:Yes
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:In Store
Level of Expertise:I do some repairs
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Assembly was so easy my nine year old grand daughter helped me. I bought it to load heavy equipment into my pickup. It loaded the generator and welding machine safely and easily, again with the help of my grand daughter.
 The item was waiting for me at the store.
Pros Warranty, Price, Dependability
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Works well, but....

PostedFebruary 27, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: La Cresta, California 92562, USA
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Price: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
3 / 5
3 / 5
As others have mentioned the legs don't line up in the holes when you are going from the storage condition to use. For some reason the manufacture decided to use wheels that are 1/4" smaller diameter than the other four casters so you have to lift up the middle of the frame to get proper alignment. Easy to do with two people but requires using a piece of wood as a shim if you are doing it alone. This one design flaw could easily be fixed and would make a great hoist. Otherwise, it works well and is very sturdy.
Pros Price
Cons fit/finish
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Worth the price

PostedFebruary 11, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: South New Hampshire
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Rewards Member:Yes
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:In Store
Level of Expertise:I do some repairs
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bought this to lift a generator into my truck, lift one end of my lawn tractor, and move a heavy drill press to the other side of my basement. I looked at some Youtubes about bad welds and thin metal. Mine was OK. The welds were smooth and good penetration. The tubing is thick enough, not like a $4000 lift of course. I would not feel comfortable pulling a big block V8 w/tranny, but it would probably do it. The instructions are tiny and not well written. Some steps are missing. Best plan is to set up the picture on the box and use that to assemble. Also measure the MM length of the bolts and sort them out first. Some are in the tubing already (not missing). As some reviewer said, a better designer would have made all the bolts the same size. You can not build one for this price. I wanted to order online and pick up in store but the web site would not allow me to do that. So I picked up in store and did not get the online price, but there is a Tuesday senior discount on the web site if you print it out. The store was not aware of it but I showed it to them and I got it.
Pros Price
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Best bang for your buck

PostedJanuary 11, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: San Diego, CA, USA
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Rewards Member:No
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:In Store & Online
Level of Expertise:I do all vehicle repairs myself
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cheapest 2 ton I could get my hands on. Payed for it on sale and it was worth every penny. Held up motor and trans easy. Works well and easy to use.
Cons:
-welds don't look pretty BUT are holding fine
-bolts are cheap and easy to strip(easy fix: buy better bolts at hardware store)
Pros Price, easy to use, compact
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good quality, great price

PostedDecember 24, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Marlton, NJ
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
5 / 5
5 / 5
quality unit, great price, easy to assemble even without the missing directions. worked great to pull the flathead out of my old Dodge .
 1st order got lost, 2nd one was easy and fast
Pros Price, Dependability
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good unit in my judgment

PostedDecember 23, 2014
Customer avatar
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Overall, this hoist seems to be a good unit for the price. It seems plenty sturdy. I hope to use it for the rest of my life as a shade-tree mechanic who works on stuff from time-to-time. Can't speak to its durability yet since my unit is brand new. I really don't have any complaints and I suspect you won't either. The only thing to mention is the fact that assembly instructions are poorly written, and thus it might take a few extra minutes to figure out what the writer of these instructions is trying to say (detailed part pictures are so small they are not much help either). Either English is not the primary language of the writer or Bubba-no-smart (one of the two). Bought my unit on sale for $135 close to Christmas. I believe in time this hoist will prove to be a good unit bought at a good price.
Pros Price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Heavy duty, easy to assemble.

PostedDecember 15, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Cortland
Would you purchase this product again?No
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:In Store
Level of Expertise:I do some repairs
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Instructions were very clear, and assembly was about 45 min. To 1 hour because of cold fingers (November).
Pros Warranty, Price, Dependability
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

No trouble at all

PostedDecember 13, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Rio Rancho, NM, USA
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:In Store & Online
Level of Expertise:I do all vehicle repairs myself
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The HF 1 ton didn't have the reach to pull the 5.4L out of my truck so I was going to pick up their 2 ton. Instead I found this Big Red 2 ton here for only $127 after the sale price plus the additional 25% off for ordering it online. Ordered and paid online then drove down and got it at the store. Pulled the 5.4L out of my Ford with no problem. Plenty of reach and handled the job with no trouble. Glad I found it.
Pros Price, Dependability, reach
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

great product

PostedNovember 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Jefferson, LA, USA
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Rewards Member:Yes
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:Online
Level of Expertise:I do all vehicle repairs myself
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
5 / 5
5 / 5
easy to put together and took motor out of truck with it
with out any problems great motor lift
Pros Price
Cons Price
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good strong and heavy duty unit

PostedNovember 9, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Jax., FL
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Rewards Member:Yes
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:In Store
Level of Expertise:I do some repairs
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Picked up at local Pep Boys store. The heavy duty box was totally intact, well packed and all parts included/protected, just not identified very well (microscopic numbers on small 4”x 4” diagram). A four page 6 x 8 ½” booklet including safety, assembly & parts list, along with operating instructions. Everything finally went together as designed; I did make a few minor errors due to the vague and tiny ID/instructions. I had to look closely at the box photo. I worked alone and on the back patio in low light at night, which slowed the assembly process. Two hours & two Coronas later it was ready for the shed. This thing is HEAVY and don't even think about rolling across the lawn. It was strapped to my hand truck (perfect fit) and transported up the ramp into the shed and put to bed.
 Have not put this to the test yet, mainly to use to lift lawn mower for maintenance.
 Very small print and somewhat vague, but it's all there.
 I think it will be overkill for what I need but I prefer heavy duty. Stores well w/small foot print.
 It should exceed my needs as a home owner. Not sure about durability, time will tell.
Pros Price, storage footprint
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product ...

PostedSeptember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Green broke, n.j.
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Rewards Member:Yes
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:Online
Level of Expertise:I do all vehicle repairs myself
Price: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
5 / 5
5 / 5
This product has been built with good quality parts & workmenship...
 Keep up the good work...
 X x x
 xxx.
 xxx
Pros Price
Cons Warranty
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality construction, very usefull

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Minneapolis, MN, USA
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paid for itself in first use. Had to remove inboard boat engine and over multiple days a rental would not suffice. Added an extension tube to reach the engine and it worked great.
Pros Price, Dependability
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good quality. Works well

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Sherman Oaks
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Rewards Member:Yes
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:In Store
Level of Expertise:I do some repairs
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I got this lift to move an engine and eventually pull the engine out of my car. So far, I have been very pleased with it, and since I am not currently using it, I appreciate the fold up legs (a feature I was not looking for). I think I got it on sale too, so it wasn't much more than a used unit.
 The stuff was ready when I came to pick it up.
Pros Price, Dependability, fold-up legs
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product and box in good condition

PostedJuly 5, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Raleigh, NC
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:Online
Level of Expertise:I do some repairs
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The general online review is that you get what you pay for. I'm waiting for the other shoe to drop but 1 month later and it it still lifting car engines just fine. Only put in and out twice (total of 4 uses). We were simply tired of manhandling engines and quite happy to have purchased this lift. Couldn't find a better price online than Pepboys, and the store I picked it up at was just 30 minutes away.
 While the store was near a rougher neighborhood the employees were nonethless wonderful. I'm Filipino and often mistaken as Mexican if that makes a difference. And used to occasional discrimination.
Pros Price, Dependability
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Works Perfectly

PostedDecember 13, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Virginia, USA
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:Online
Level of Expertise:I do all vehicle repairs myself
Price: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Holds well and went together eaisly. No problems with hoist. The engine stand did present a little problem. I hoisted the engine up with the boom on the 2 ton length, no problem. The problem came when it was time to put the engine on the stand. The casters on the stand would not let the engine stand get close enough to the engine. So, I had to put the engine down on jacks, then move the boom to the half ton length then pick up the engine and put it on the stand. Next time I'll make sure and hoist it from the half ton length. Otherwise awesome hoist, i see it lasting for many many years.
Pros Price, Dependability
Cons none
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Short of expections

PostedJune 3, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: Lombard, IL, USA
Rewards Member:Yes
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:In Store
Level of Expertise:I do some repairs
The extension of the hoist is short for most engine removal applications.i had to get some tubing to extend about 10inches so I could change an engine in a camaro with out removing standard ground effects to be able to get to the center of the engine
Pros Price
Cons Handling, not ready to use
Yes, I recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Big Red 2 Ton Folding Engine Hoist
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 /