PepBoys Ratings and Reviews
OIL QST(5)
Shop now at PepBoys
BRAKE CALIPERS UNLOADED or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Pep Boys Pep Boys Pro Stop Remanufactured, Bare Disc Brake Caliper

Pep Boys Pep Boys Pro Stop Remanufactured, Bare Disc Brake Caliper

REMAN CALIPER 18-4756
Overall rating:
3.966 / 5
4
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
22 out of 2781%of reviewers recommend this.
Customer reviews for Pep Boys Pro Stop Remanufactured, Bare Disc Brake Caliper
Review 1 for Pep Boys Pro Stop Remanufactured, Bare Disc Brake Caliper
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Functions great, talk about surface rust...

PostedApril 14, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Harrisburg, PA, USA
Would you purchase this product again?No
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Within the first few days of it on the car the caliper began to surface rust. Now it's almost completely brown. Functions just fine, but going to have to paint all the calipers now.
Pros Warranty, Price
Cons surface rust, appearance
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pep Boys Pro Stop Remanufactured, Bare Disc Brake Caliper
Overall Rating: 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Non-matching

PostedApril 8, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Greensburg, PA
Would you purchase this product again?No
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Rewards Member:Yes
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:In Store & Online
Level of Expertise:I do some repairs
Price: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Three out four of the for calipers matched however, one caliper was a different manufacturer and was painted silver. One caliper had two different bleeder screws on it {dual piston calipers have two (2) bleeder screws) which made bleeding the brakes difficult.
Pros Warranty, Price
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pep Boys Pro Stop Remanufactured, Bare Disc Brake Caliper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good quality, same as OEM.

PostedApril 6, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: New Haven, CT, USA
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Rewards Member:Yes
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:Online
Level of Expertise:I do some repairs
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Frozen rear calipers are known problems on my high mileage pickup.
This caliper was exactly the same as OEM and came with a complete hardware kit. High quality and a great price. Thanks Pep Boys, always the first stop for this
"do it yourselfer".
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pep Boys Pro Stop Remanufactured, Bare Disc Brake Caliper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Quality product

PostedApril 5, 2015
Customer avatar
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Price: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality product, fits right, works beautifully!
Pros Dependability
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pep Boys Pro Stop Remanufactured, Bare Disc Brake Caliper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

New calipers, seem great!

PostedApril 4, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Nashua, NH, USA
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Rewards Member:Yes
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:In Store & Online
Level of Expertise:I do some repairs
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
4 / 5
4 / 5
New calipers for C3 Corvette, seem to be working fine, and you can't beat the price!
Pros Price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pep Boys Pro Stop Remanufactured, Bare Disc Brake Caliper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

works perfect

PostedMarch 28, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: puerto rico
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Rewards Member:Yes
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:In Store
Level of Expertise:I do some repairs
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
4 / 5
4 / 5
very easy to install
Pros Warranty, Price, Dependability
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pep Boys Pro Stop Remanufactured, Bare Disc Brake Caliper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Great value. But not perfect

PostedMarch 26, 2015
Customer avatar
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Price: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Great finish. Nice thick seals.
Mismatched hardware was alil wierd. But a great prduct at a great price
 Better hardware
Pros Price
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pep Boys Pro Stop Remanufactured, Bare Disc Brake Caliper
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Remanufactured calipers, fainting paint, no hardware

PostedFebruary 8, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Cooper City, FL
Would you purchase this product again?No
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:In Store & Online
Level of Expertise:I do some repairs
Price: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I order by internet 2 rem calipers, one of them arrived without the hardware (pins, spring), the other was poorly painted, with the paint powder fainting all over the cylinders. I am afraid that the paint particles damage the rubber protection of the cylinders and make them leak.
Pros Price
Cons quality
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pep Boys Pro Stop Remanufactured, Bare Disc Brake Caliper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Caliper for Acura TL

PostedJanuary 12, 2015
Customer avatar
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
4 / 5
4 / 5
This count for work fine for the replacement on my Acura TL the only complaint I would have would be the paint is not that good
Pros Price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pep Boys Pro Stop Remanufactured, Bare Disc Brake Caliper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great product.

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: RI
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Rewards Member:Yes
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:In Store & Online
Level of Expertise:I do some repairs
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great price and work perfectly.
Pros Warranty, Price, Dependability
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pep Boys Pro Stop Remanufactured, Bare Disc Brake Caliper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great value.

PostedJanuary 8, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: RI
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Install easily and work perfectly.
Pros Warranty, Price, Dependability
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pep Boys Pro Stop Remanufactured, Bare Disc Brake Caliper
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Rusts too fast

PostedJanuary 6, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: San Jose, CA
Would you purchase this product again?No
Did you find everything you were looking for?No
Rewards Member:No
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:In Store & Online
Level of Expertise:I do all vehicle repairs myself
Price: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Durability: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
1 / 5
1 / 5
I bought one of these refurbed RSX brake calipers to replace my OEM one. Apparently during the reman process, they remove the rust proof coating that comes on the OEM calipers. This one that I got from Pepboys totally rusted over within the first 2 months, and I'm in Calif. The other 3 original calipers are 10 years old and have no rust. Also this caliper came with different sized bolts and bleeder fittings than OEM. I wish I had kept my original caliper and rebuilt it, or bought a better quality part somewhere else.
 No, it rusted like crazy.
Cons quality
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Pep Boys Pro Stop Remanufactured, Bare Disc Brake Caliper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Product work as intended.

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
4 / 5
4 / 5
The calipers works as intended. Cosmetically, it was mismatch during rebuilding so the two halves does not line up like the original calipers.
Pros Warranty, Price
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Pep Boys Pro Stop Remanufactured, Bare Disc Brake Caliper
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Pitted caliper

PostedDecember 19, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Aston, PA
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Rewards Member:Yes
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:In Store & Online
Level of Expertise:I do all vehicle repairs myself
Price: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The first caliper was pitted which tells me they just polished the unit. The second was operational.
Pros returnable
Cons quality
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Pep Boys Pro Stop Remanufactured, Bare Disc Brake Caliper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

'99 Ford F350 front disc brake calipers

PostedSeptember 17, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: San Diego County, Ca. USA
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Rewards Member:Yes
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:In Store & Online
Level of Expertise:I do all vehicle repairs myself
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
5 / 5
5 / 5
These calipers came with the mounting pins and the anti-rattle clips and they looked beautiful. Installation was easy and they work fine. I would recommend them to anyone needing calipers. The ones I replaced were dragging and causing my vehicle to pull to the left. A knowledgeable mechanic told me I needed a front-end alignment, I'm glad I checked my brakes before I spent a hundred dollars on an alignment I didn't need.
 The price was good too.
 I'm a happy driver knowing my brakes are in good order.
Pros Warranty, Price, Dependability
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Pep Boys Pro Stop Remanufactured, Bare Disc Brake Caliper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Product met all OEM requiresments and works great

PostedSeptember 14, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: McKinney, TX
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Rewards Member:Yes
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:Online
Level of Expertise:I do all vehicle repairs myself
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
5 / 5
5 / 5
The caliper met all OME and GM requirements. Installed without any modification to Corvette and works great. Price and Pep Boys service were also deciding factors. Would highly recommend.
Pros Warranty, Price, Dependability
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Pep Boys Pro Stop Remanufactured, Bare Disc Brake Caliper
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good product for the money

PostedJuly 27, 2014
Customer avatar
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought a pair of these for the rear of my car. No problem but there were two minor issues. 1. The parking brake cable did not fit the opening of one of them. The opening was visibly bent just enough to keep the cable anchor from going in, but it was easy to use the shaft of a screwdriver to widen it. I hope there was no damage from fatigue, but so far so good. 2. The new mounting bolts that came with one caliper had smaller heads than the old ones, so in that case I reused the old bolts so they would remain consistent on both sides of the car. Otherwise these are a great product for my everyday car.
Pros Price
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Pep Boys Pro Stop Remanufactured, Bare Disc Brake Caliper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

ITEM COMES WITH ALL NEW BOLTS AND WASHERS

PostedJanuary 30, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Eastpoint, Baltimore, MD 21224, USA
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Rewards Member:Yes
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:Online
Level of Expertise:I do some repairs
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CALIPER IS OEM FIT ALSO COMES WITH NEW RUBBER BOLT COVERS,BOLTS AND COPPER WASHERS.TOOK 30 MINUTES TO SWITCH PART.
HIGHLY RECOMEND THESE REMAND CALIPERS
OTHER STORES ONLY GIVE YOU THE CALIPER WITHOUT NEW BOLTS AND WASHERS.
 Part was on counter when i arived also 20% discount online
 Verry good details
 Works great on my car
 Highly recomend this oem reman part
Pros Warranty, Price, Dependability, fit is oem, easy install
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Pep Boys Pro Stop Remanufactured, Bare Disc Brake Caliper
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

DOA

PostedJanuary 29, 2014
Customer avatar
Location: Centreville, VA, USA
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Rewards Member:Yes
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:In Store & Online
Level of Expertise:I do all vehicle repairs myself
Price: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The quality of the hardware included with the caliper was average, not quite OEM quality with respect to anti-rust coatings but all screws, shims, washers, and pins were adequate and should provide plenty of life.
My caliper came in a box saying it was pressure tested at the factory, however, when I was bleeding the brakes following installation I had fluid squirting out of the emergency brake part of the caliper. Totally unacceptable. This could have resulted in a failed safety inspection and a major safety issue if it was not caught during installation.
 I would like PepBoys to add some functionality to the website where I can request my trim model of my car be added to the parts listings.
 There is no mention of a warranty or return policy for this part.
 I expected a caliper that didn't fail before it was put into service.
 As long as I can get a working caliper I would recommend this product.
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
anto
delaware
same experience with these calipers
Posted December 6, 2014
Had the same experience and had to wait for replacement as it was a special order
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 20 for Pep Boys Pro Stop Remanufactured, Bare Disc Brake Caliper
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Pro Stop caliper

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Customer avatar
Location: New York, NY, USA
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:In Store & Online
Level of Expertise:I do some repairs
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Replaced an OEM caliper on a 97 Nissan Maxima, it was an exact fit and came with new hardware. Included were shims, new brake hose washers, bleeder valve with rubber cap. No caliper mount came in the box so just used existing mount. Just be sure brake hose and bleeder valve are tight after installing new caliper and bleeding brakes. Only been a couple of weeks and working nicely so far.
Pros Price, Dependability, direct fit no mod needed
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>