PepBoys Ratings and Reviews
N/A(6)
N/A(6)
OIL QST(9)
Shop now at PepBoys
BRAKES-PADS/SHOES PS PLAT PADS or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for ProStop ProStop Platinum Original Equipment Brake Pads

ProStop ProStop Platinum Original Equipment Brake Pads

PROSTOP PLATINUM PAD
Overall rating:
4.438 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(137 reviews) 137
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 137 reviews
5 Stars
91
4 Stars
28
3 Stars
8
2 Stars
7
1 Star
3
114 out of 12790%of reviewers recommend this.
Customer reviews for ProStop Platinum Original Equipment Brake Pads
Review 1 for ProStop Platinum Original Equipment Brake Pads
Overall Rating: 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Labeling is confusing

PostedJuly 18, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: Las Vegas, NV, USA
Would you purchase this product again?No
Did you find everything you were looking for?No
Rewards Member:Yes
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:Online
Level of Expertise:I do some repairs
Price: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The label of the word "platinum" would make anyone think these are the best quality. In fact The label reads a mixture of materials for the pads. I now know to only stick to pure ceramic. These pads make noise and produce lots of dust.
 This is my second review on the same product
 Very confusing
 Platinum should mean no noise and no dust
 Stick only pure ceramic pads
Pros Price
Cons dusty breaks
No, I do not recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for ProStop Platinum Original Equipment Brake Pads
Overall Rating: 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Good quality.....but....

PostedApril 17, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: Jackson, NJ, USA
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Rewards Member:Yes
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:Online
Level of Expertise:I do some repairs
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Replaced the front & rear pads in wife's Camry at 52K miles. ProStop Platinums are good quality....good fit. Only complaint is that kits did not include caliper hardware (pad clips). Fortunately those on the Camry cleaned up with a bit of wire brushing, but if this is a 2nd or 3rd pad change, best to buy a separate hardware kit. Couple of hundred miles so far & they stop straight; no squeal; not much dust. Seem to be very good replacement for the OEM pads.
 Lack of caliper hardware in kit (pad clips)
Pros Price, quality
Cons lack of caliper hardware
Yes, I recommend this product.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for ProStop Platinum Original Equipment Brake Pads
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great Quality and Price- Do your research!

PostedMarch 5, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: San Diego, CA
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Rewards Member:Yes
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:In Store
Level of Expertise:I do all vehicle repairs myself
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
5 / 5
5 / 5
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
I recently replaced all four pads on my 2003 Hyundai Sonata, and I was so impressed with them, I also used them today, replacing the front pads on my 2001 Buick Century. They stop better than the pads I replaced, particularly on the Sonata. I did some research, and semi-metallic pads stop better than organic pads, or ceramic pads. They also dissipate heat better. I have had no problem with noise because in both cases, the rotors were in good condition. There were no hard spots due to heat, or grooves on the rotors. I suspect that the people who complain about noise have rotors that have these problems. If there are hard spots, don't bother turning them, replace them. The Hyundai had ceramic pads, which create little dust. I expect that the semi-metallic ProStop pads will create more and darker colored dust, but I'm willing to trade that for better braking. Those who complained about dust need to realise that they are getting better brakes that your old brakes which were probably ceramic. These will handle a fair amount of heat, but I saw where a truck owner complained about the pads cracking. You got them too hot. It sounds like you use your truck to do big jobs, so you need a premium semi-metallic pad, or a heavy duty metallic pad. One person complained about not having the hardware included. No pad set includes hardware. That is a separate purchase. Some people complained about it being difficult to install them. That is strictly the design of the car. It would not matter what brand of pads you used, they would all be just as difficult to install. I have been a service writer at a new car dealer, and I took a brakes class for the professional. I could have been ASE certified if I had taken the test. These brakes are absolutely excellent quality, and I will continue to use them, unless I have some extreme duty situation such as towing a heavy trailer.
 For some reason, the hardware kit I ordered was not on the order at the store, but it was on my receipt.
 A bit vague about the material used in the pad.
 Exceeded my expectations
 For normal to heavy usage. Upgrade for extreme usage.
Pros Price, great stopping power
Yes, I recommend this product.
 
Products related to my review
 
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for ProStop Platinum Original Equipment Brake Pads
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Excellent Value

PostedJanuary 24, 2016
Customer avatar
Location: Greensburg, PA 15601, USA
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Rewards Member:Yes
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:In Store & Online
Level of Expertise:I do some repairs
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OEM quality at a good price. Nice brake feel and low dust.
Pros Price, Warranty
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for ProStop Platinum Original Equipment Brake Pads
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Awesome Stopping Power

PostedNovember 11, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: West Jordan, UT, USA
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:Online
Level of Expertise:I do some repairs
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
5 / 5
5 / 5
I bought these for my 2009 Honda Element. Installation was easy and now my car stops great with no squeaks or squeals. The price was super cheap. I ordered one set and I thought it would just be 2 pads - enough for one wheel. But it came with 2 sets so I was able to replace the brake pads for both rear wheels. Couldn't be happier.
Pros Price, Dependability
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for ProStop Platinum Original Equipment Brake Pads
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

Noisy

PostedNovember 11, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: DC
Would you purchase this product again?No
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Rewards Member:Yes
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:In Store
Level of Expertise:I do some repairs
Price: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality: 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Durability: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
1 / 5
1 / 5
The brakes squeal when stopping
Pros Price
No, I do not recommend this product.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for ProStop Platinum Original Equipment Brake Pads
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Good product

PostedNovember 11, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Las Vegas
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Rewards Member:Yes
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:Online
Level of Expertise:I do some repairs
Price: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Durability: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Works great
Pros Price
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for ProStop Platinum Original Equipment Brake Pads
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Work great!

PostedNovember 7, 2015
Customer avatar
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Rewards Member:Yes
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Installed the pads myself and I am happy with them. No noise, brake well, no excessive brake dust.
Pros Price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for ProStop Platinum Original Equipment Brake Pads
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Great pads

PostedNovember 6, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Edgewater, Md. USA
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Rewards Member:Yes
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:In Store & Online
Level of Expertise:I do some repairs
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Just installed on 2004 Grand Am. Fit perfectly. I can't comment on durability of these pads, however I have installed them on other vehicles of mine and have been lasted a long time.
Pros Price, Dependability, Warranty
Yes, I recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for ProStop Platinum Original Equipment Brake Pads
Overall Rating: 
2 / 5
2 / 5

poor quarity control

PostedNovember 2, 2015
Customer avatar
Location: Easton, PA, USA
Would you purchase this product again?No
Did you find everything you were looking for?No
Rewards Member:Yes
Age:Over 65
Gender:Male
Shopping Preference:In Store & Online
Level of Expertise:I do some repairs
Price: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality: 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
1 / 5
1 / 5
one set of brake pads did not match (two inside
pads)
Cons Dependability
No, I do not recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for ProStop Platinum Original Equipment Brake Pads
Overall Rating: 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good stuff

PostedNovember 2, 2015
Customer avatar
Would you purchase this product again?Yes
Did you find everything you were looking for?Yes
Price: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ease of Installation/Use: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Durability: 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate your overall online experience with Pepboys.com 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Please rate the quality of product information 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Did this product meet your overall expectations? 
5 / 5
5 / 5
good stuff
Pros Price, Dependability
Yes, I recommend this product.
0